Back to top

Bhagan, Kantasingh spin PowerGen to victory

SPIN twins Ancil Bhagan and Kavesh Kantasingh destroyed the Queen’s Park batting over the weekend to lead PowerGen to an easy six-wicket win in the opening round of the TT Cricket Board National League Premiership One two-day competition on Sunday.

In the first innings, Bhagan took five for 41 and Kantasingh snatched 4/46 to dismiss Queen’s Park for 124. In reply, the spinners continued to dominate the contest as Akeal Hosein (5/60) and Jon Russ Jagessar (5/66) grabbed five wickets each to bowl out PowerGen for 162.

Queen’s Park struggled again in the second innings to be dismissed for a paltry 87, with Bhagan claiming 6/49 and Kantasingh taking 4/26. Chasing a meagre 50 runs to win, PowerGen got to the target with the loss of four wickets.

Central Sports were also winners with a ten-wicket result over El Socorro Youth Movement. The matches between defending champions Alescon Comets and Victoria and Merry Boys and Clarke Road both ended in draws.


Queen’s Park 124 (Isaiah Rajah 38; Ancil Bhagan 5/41, Kavesh Kantasingh 4/46) and 87 (Javon Searles 25; A Bhagan 6/49, K Kantasingh 4/26) vs PowerGen 162 (Jeron Maniram 51, Keon Harding 44; Akeal Hosein 5/60, Jon Russ Jagessar 5/66) and 50/4 (Akeal Hosein 3/32). PowerGen won by six wickets.

El Socorro Youth Movement 122 (N Arthur 24; Marlon Richards 3/38, Akeem Jordan 3/26, Ryan Austin 3/35) and 191 (Jahron Alfred 51, Adrian Daniel 40; Akeem Jordan 2/41, Christopher Ramsaran 3/36) vs Central Sports 293 (Keddy Lesporis 71, Vishan Jagessar 55, Shakeem Prince 5/50, Keon Issac 2/22) and 22/0. Central Sports won by ten wickets.

Victoria 138 (Damian Bryce 47, Stephen Wharwood 35; Rayad Emrit 4/22, Derone Davis 2/26) and 223 (Andrae Bryce 70, Sherwin Ganga 58; Khastri Singh 4/47, Jyd Goolie 3/22) vs Alescon Comets 207 (Jyd Goolie 82, Roshon Primus 41; Farrel Jugmohan 7/74, Vikash Rampersad 3/64) and 89/3 (Navin Bidaisee 41 not out; F Jugmohan 2/44). Match Drawn.

Merry Boys 169 (Mario Belcon 89, Rishard Harris 58; Dalton Polius 7/55) and 257/9 (Amir Jangoo 89, M Belcon 50, Rishaad Harris 45; Yannick Ottley 5/80, D Polius 4/77) vs Clarke Road 268/9 declared (Sean Siloch 103, Y Ottley 82, Dejourn Charles 42; Nathaniel McDavid 5/102). Match Drawn.

The post Bhagan, Kantasingh spin PowerGen to victory appeared first on Trinidad and Tobago Newsday.

News Source: